Search Icon White

U.S. Celebration of
World Standards Day

  1. Events
  2. U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day
  3. U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day

Event Overview

The 2021 U.S. Celebration of World StandardS Day (WSD) will be celebrated on Thursday, October 28, 2021. The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) will serve as the 2021 WSD administrating organization.

The U.S. Celebration of WSD is an annual event recognizing the critical role of various stakeholders across the standards community, including business leaders, industry, academia, and government. The event will include the presentation of the 2021 Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership award, which is named after the late U.S. Secretary of Commerce and honors an individual who has effectively promoted standardization as a key tool in the elimination of global trade barriers. The winners of the 2021 World Standards Day Paper Competition will be also announced.

2021 Theme: Standards for Sustainable Development Goals

The 2021 U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day theme recognizes the crucial role that standardization plays in the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals – especially Goal 11: Making cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable – and the partnerships and collaborations critical to achieving that vision.

U.S. WSD Planning Committee

World Standards Day was initially launched in 1970, and is now recognized and celebrated by nations around the globe. U.S. activities are organized annually by a planning committee consisting of representatives from the standards and conformity assessment community. Participation in the U.S. World Standards Day Planning Committee is open to all. If your organization is interested in joining the WSD Committee and being part of the annual U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day, please reach out to Stephanie Carroll (; 212-642-4890). The WSD Committee meets monthly.

View the 2021 WSD Committee roster

2021 WSD Paper Competition

In celebration of standards, and their growing impact on the global economy, SES - The Society for Standards Professionals and the U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day Planning Committee are co-sponsoring the annual paper competition for individuals in the U.S. standards community. Paper competition winners are selected by the SES Publications Committee and will be announced at the U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day on October 28, 2021.
Submissions must be received with an official entry form by midnight on September 3, 2021. Additional information and the official entry form can be found here.

WSD Event Sponsorship

Individual Tickets:

  • $50 for government employees
  • $195 for industry; non-government


  • $1,000 for two seats at the dinner and a tabletop exhibit during networking reception
  • $1,500 for half table (5 seats) at the dinner and a tabletop exhibit during networking reception
  • $2,500 for full table (10 seats) at the dinner and a tabletop exhibit during networking reception
  • $4,500 for two tables (20 seats) at the dinner and a tabletop exhibit during networking reception
  • $7,000 for three tables (30 seats) at the dinner and a tabletop exhibit during networking reception

Registration is not yet open for this event. Once available, a link will be posted here.

Ronald Brown Standards Leadership Award

The Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award, named after the late U.S. Secretary of Commerce, recognizes demonstrated leadership in promoting the important role of standardization in eliminating global barriers to trade. This special award will be presented during the U.S. World Standards Day reception and dinner in Washington, DC.

  • Demonstrates leadership in promoting the role of international standards to eliminate global barriers to trade and in promoting U.S. standards as a tool to enhance U.S. global competitiveness.
  • Demonstrates a clear commitment to and authorizes resources within the organization, agency, or corporation for the development of national and international standards.
  • Exhibits leadership and visionary qualities in support of national and international standardization as evidenced by speeches in national fora and articles in national publications
  • Creates an atmosphere in the company that encourages the development of anticipatory standards in support of emerging technologies and in pursuit of a company’s business strategies.
  • Demonstrates support of the principle of global supplier declaration of conformance of products and services to international standards.
  • Individual should have a clear understanding of the standards development process preferably by having served on a standards making committee.
  • Encourages staff participation in external standards committees.
  • Organization supports U.S, standards system.
  • Has demonstrated through service, a commitment to the voluntary standards community of the United States.
  • Guidelines developed by World Standards Day Planning Committee, June 1995

2019 Austin Freeman, Ph.D
Segment Engineering Technical Authority, BP

2018 Arthur E. Cote
Former executive vice president and chief engineer (retired)
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

2017 Charles Sidebottom, P.E.
Managing Partner, PPO Standards LLC

2016 James A. Thomas
President, ASTM International

2015 James Williamson
Former Vice President of Technical Standards at Sony Electronics

2014 Jimmy W. Sealy
Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA)

2013 Catherine (Kitty) H. Pilarz
Senior Director of Product Safety for Mattel/Fisher-Price

2012 Ronald L. Lynn
Director and Building Official, Clark County (Nevada) Department of Development Services

2011 James Shannon
President, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

2010 Marsha Mazz
Senior Accessibility Specialist and Technical Assistance Coordinator, United States Access Board

2009 Jim Sanford
Assistant U.S. Trade Representative for Market Access and Industrial Competitiveness

2008 James H. Turner, Jr.
Chief Counsel, Committee on Science and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives

2007 Dr. James E. Hill
Former president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air- Conditioning Engineers, Inc.

2006 Constance A. Morella
U.S. Ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and former member of the U.S. House of Representatives

2005 Richard E. Feigel
President, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

2004 Simon Pugh
Vice President, Infrastructure and Standards, MasterCard International

2003 Jack Dangermond
President, Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)

2002 William M. Daley
President, SBC Communications Inc.

2001 Robert W. Lane
President & CEO, Deere & Company

2000 J. W. Marriott, Jr.
CEO, Marriott International, Inc.

1999 Robert L. Mallett
Deputy Secretary of Commerce, U.S. Department of Commerce

1998 Dana G. Mead
Chairman & CEO, Tenneco

1997 Philip M. Condit
Chairman & CEO, The Boeing Company

1996 Richard C. Notebaert
Chairman of the Board & CEO, Ameritech

1995 William J. Hudson
President & CEO, AMP, Incorporated

1994 Gary L. Tooker
Vice Chairman & CEO, Motorola Inc.

1993 I. Mac Allister Booth
Chairman & CEO, Polaroid Corporation

Staff Contact

Stephanie Carroll

Senior Manager, Meetings and Events